Nau mai, hāere mai e te manuhiri tūārangi ki te Whare Kura o te Hoiere
Welcome visitors from afar to Havelock School. The students, parents, trustees and staff hope your association with Havelock School will be a rewarding and pleasant experience.
The campus upon which Havelock School is sited today was once the grounds of Brownlee Park - across the street from the building where Lord Rutherford and Dr Pickering were taught. Extensive grounds remain a feature of the school and create an attractive learning environment for the community's youngsters.
Murals on the exterior of the classrooms represent significant aspects of Havelock's history. One is of two dolphins leaping exuberantly from the water. The double dolphin has been adopted as the school's logo and apart from its association with the local legend of Pelorus Jack, it also represents a spirit of co-operation. It symbolises the familial care dolphins are recognised as having for each other. If a student has a problem then a bigger 'dolphin' can be expected to help them with it, and vice-versa if need be. "That spirit of whanau and belonging is really important to us."
Havelock School has enjoyed significant gains from the efforts of parents and the community in general over the years. The ideal enviornment and facilities available today reflect the great commitment and stewardship dating from 1861.